Product added to shopping cart!

Proceed to payment Continue shopping

CASH JOHNNY: American IV The Man Comes Around

Price 119,-
Please select
American IV: The Man Comes Around is the fourth album in the American series by Johnny Cash, released in 2002. The majority of songs are covers which Cash performs in his own sparse style, with help from producer Rick Rubin. For instance, for the song "Personal Jesus", Rubin asked Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante to re-work an acoustic version of Martin Gore's song, which featured a simple acoustic riff that stripped down the song to a blues style. He receives backing vocal assistance from various artists, including Fiona Apple, Nick Cave, and Don Henley. American IV was the final Cash album released during his lifetime; though the Unearthed Box Set was compiled prior to his death, it was not released until two months later. It was also his first non-compilation album to go gold (selling over 500,000 copies) in thirty years. Additionally, the album won "Album of the Year" award at the 2003 CMA Awards. The video for "Hurt", a song written by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails in 1994, was nominated in seven categories at the 2003 MTV Video Music Awards and won the award for Best Cinematography. In February 2003, mere days before his 71st birthday, Cash won another Grammy Award for Best Country Male Vocal Performance for "Give My Love To Rose," a song Cash had originally recorded in the late 1950s. The music video for "Hurt" also won a Grammy for Best Short Form Video at the 2004 Awards. Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor admitted that he was initially "flattered" but worried that "the idea [of Cash covering "Hurt"] sounded a bit gimmicky," but when he heard the song and saw the video for the first time, Reznor said he was deeply moved and found Cash's cover beautiful and meaningful.
  • 1. The Man Comes Around
  • 2. Hurt
  • 3. Give My Love To Rose
  • 4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 5. I Hung My Head
  • 6. First Time I Ever Saw Your Face
  • 7. Personal Jesus
  • 8. In My Life
  • 9. Sam Hall
  • 10. Danny Boy
  • 11. Desperado
  • 12. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  • 13. Tear Stained Letter
  • 14. Streets Of Laredo
  • 15. We'll Meet Again