Product added to shopping cart!

Proceed to payment Continue shopping

AWAKE: Spiritual Warfare (re-release) CD

Price 159,-
Please select

Arkeyn Steel Records proudly presents AWAKE from Austin, Texas USA and the reissue of their “Spiritual Warfare” LP-tape.

Limited Edition 500 Handnumbered CDs (ASR CD-083)

Release Date: August 25th, 2023


First review at FORGOTTEN SCROLL webzine


AWAKE was born when Mike Botello (ex – ASSALANT / MILITIA) teamed up with former MILITIA guitarist Jesse Villegas (Jesse also played with METAL MERCHANT from Houston Texas, he passed away back in 2016). This collaboration went from a “solo” project to a group effort with the introduction of drummer Rob Battalion. Together they formed a dynamic, high-quality Progressive Metal sound with compelling, thought-provoking lyrical content, exploring the overall content of the Christian religion and its message.

“Spiritual Warfare” was originally released in the fall of 1990 on cassette. After the release, the band went on an 18-month sabbatical and reunited in 1992 with new drummer John Pace (his performance can be heard on the “Awake Hidden Gems”  bonus track on this reissue). AWAKE continued to perform around central Texas and eventually departed in 1993.

The “Spiritual Warfare” release can be described with only a single word: Phenomenal. It captures the talent and the artistic vision of a band that followed a unique path of expression away from the Metal stereotypes of the time.

Texas Metal fanatics, Christian Metal specialists and Prog Metal nerds, all share a great piece of respect for the “Spiritual Warfare” album, while metal collectors are still after a copy of the original cassette on Shadow Records. Now everyone can have this masterpiece in this ultimate edition.

All the audio is remastered from scratch by Kostas Scandalis at Infinity studios (Thessalonki, Greece). The artwork has been upgraded by Kostas Athanasoglou -based on the original cover which was created by Mike Soliz (MILITIA, WATCHTOWER, OBLIVION KNIGHT etc)-, lots of photos are included together with the complete set of lyrics. Mike Botello himself wrote the liner notes.

A new spiritual dimension is opened through the music of AWAKE. Get ready for the ultimate Texas Progressive Metal experience!


1. Prelude
2. Reconcile
3. Only The Strong Survive
4. The System
5. Drums Of War
6. Unjust
7. Change
8. Truth & Reality
9. Mirror, Mirror
10. The Kingdom
11. See Me Now
12. Faith
13. Spiritual Warfare
14. Awake Hidden Gems

1-13 LP-Tape 1990
14 Rehearsals 1991-1992

Steel Gallery