Product added to shopping cart!

Proceed to payment Continue shopping

TOURNIQUET: Psycho Surgery (Metal Icon Series) CD

Price 135,-
Please select

TOURNIQUET - PSYCHO SURGERY (Metal Icon Series) (*NEW-CD, 2020, Retroactive)

  • First reissue featuring the original artwork
  • Four bonus tracks never-before-heard, exclusive to this release
  • Bonus material consistent with time period and early 90’s band line-ups
  • Part of the exclusive Retroactive Record’s Metal Icon Series
  • 16-page booklet with lyrics and many never-before-seen band pics
  • 2020 write-up by band leader and founder, Ted Kirkpatrick
  • 2020 write-up from Scott Waters, NoLifeTilMetal Graphics
  • Fresh remaster by Bombworks Sound, Rob Colwell
  • Produced by Metal Blade Records' Bill Metoyer

With Psycho Surgery, the band went in a more modern, experimental, and technical thrash-metal style, incorporating heavy doses of classical music-influenced guitar riffs, complex tempo changes, and virtuosic guitar solos. One reviewer described the album as "Slayer plays Beethoven...." Vocalist Guy Ritter also abandoned his King Diamond-like high-pitched falsetto in favor of a more melodic baritone register and the band went on to reach a level of popularity worthy of their excessive talent.  The title track is the closest thing the group has to a signature song. It opens with the dissonant sounds of an orchestra tuning, then introduces strangely growled vocals beneath a barrage of other sounds. Radical and abrupt time changes, dissonant harmonies, and a melodic vocal chorus all account for the song’s initially inaccessible but ultimately mesmerizing appeal. The allegorical lyrics about all sorts of medical practices seem to be about the process of developing a new heart and a new mind. Maybe it was best said by Heaven’s Metal reviewer, Chris Gotto, “A timeless slab of gut-wrenching metal, combining the best of technical riffs, progression, speed metal and love of classical music in a way that only these Christian thrash kings can.” The 2020 reissue is reloaded with a 16-page insert with loads of never-before-seen band pics, and four exclusive bonus tracks never-before-released (two live tracks and two demo tracks). And, you also get an all-new 2020 remaster by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound which makes this is THE ultimate collector’s dream for deluxe reissues!  

Tourniquet has earned six GMA Dove Award nominations and won recognition globally from magazines such as Modern DrummerGuitar PlayerMetal Hammer, and HM Magazine, where Tourniquet was voted "Favorite Band of the 1990s" and won "Favorite Album of the 1990s." Tourniquet has sold more than 300,000 albums.

1 Psycho Surgery
2 A Dog's Breakfast
3 Viento Borrascoso (Devastating Wind)
4 Vitals Fading
5 Spineless
6 Dysfunctional Domicile
7 Broken Chromosomes
8 Stereotaxic Atrocities
9 Officium Defunctorum

PSYCHO SURGERY CD bonus tracks:
LIVE: Broken Chromosomes, Spineless
DEMO: Psycho Surgery, Vitals Fading

Retroactive Records


Related Products

Image of TOURNIQUET: Stop The Bleeding

TOURNIQUET - STOP THE BLEEDING (Metal Icon Series) (*NEW-CD, 2020, Retroactive) First reissue …

Image of TOURNIQUET: Pathogenic Ocular


Image of TOURNIQUET: Psycho Surgery

Reissue featuring the original artwork Part of the exclusive Retroactive Record’s Metal …